The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

By Tommy Wells
Seward Phoenix LOG 

Johnson sprints to ASLC 5K title

Seward runner sets new personal-best en route to big win


August 3, 2017 | View PDF

Tommy Wells

Erik Johnson congratulates third-place finisher Sebastian Szweda with a high-five at the finish line. Johnson won the men's race with a personal-best time of 16 minutes and 16.5 seconds.

Erik Johnson made winning the 19th Annual 5K Wildlife Rescue Run & Walk seem almost routine.

Except for the fact that it wasn't.

Johnson legged out a record-setting time of 16 minutes and 16.5 seconds over the 3.1-mile course on Saturday afternoon and cruised to a decisive victory. His time not only shattered his personal-best mark in the fundraising race, it enabled him to finish almost a full minute ahead of the rest of the pack.

"I thought it was a great race," he said, after finishing 55.5 seconds ahead of his closest competitor, Sebastian Szweda.

Johnson got off to a solid start in the race, which began at noon in front of the Alaska SeaLife Center. He raced up Third Avenue before making a turn and retracing his steps toward the finish line near Zudy's restaurant. By the time he reached the final mile of the race, his dominance was without question.

Szweda finished the race in a time of 17:12.0, a mere 1.2 seconds ahead of third-place finisher Jacob Marshall.

Piper Dixon and Christian LaPann rounded out the top five spots in the men's standings.

Tara Craytor rolled up the top time in the women's division. Competing in the 30-39 age division, Craytor legged out a time of 20:54.7.

Tommy Wells

Runners make their way past fans and friends who turned out to line the road. More than 100 runners and walkers participated in the annual event on Saturday.

Kristen Sieminski finished second, checking in at 21:50.5. Isabella Maier was third in the women's division, fourth overall among female finishers at 22:36.2.

Teagan Smith was the third-fastest female runner in the race. En route to winning the girls' 12-15 division, she turned in a time of 22:06.5. Gaia Casagranda was second in the 12-15 standings at 24:12.3.

Natalie Sieminski won the girls 11 and under division with a time of 23:47.0. Emerson Lorring and Hayden Blair placed second and third, respectively. Elias Williams won the boys' 11 and under title with a run of 30:45.3 Neil Reutov was second.

Gellean Szweda Mittelstadt won the boys' 12-15 division with a time of 17:12.0. Zachary Rinder and Corbin Smith took second and third, respectively.

Tanis Lorring and Steven Charles Osborn won the girls' and boys' 16-19 age divisions. Lorring clocked a time of 23:03.5. Osborn finished at 19:54.0.

Ezekiel Craven was second among the 16-19 boys.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017