The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

By Tommy Wells
Seward Phoenix LOG 

Fullerton woman snags lead in halibut tourney


Courtesy photo

Hannah Harris gives her 143-pound catch a huge hug last week after finding out she had taken over the top spot in the Seward Halibut Tournament's Youth division. The Lolo, Montana, resident caught a 143-pounder.

Wayne Nygard's hopes of winning the 2017 Seward Halibut Tournament came to an end last week when not one, but two, fishermen landed huge fish and pushed him to third overall.

On Friday, June 16, Ermagene Aalund grabbed the top spot in the annual fishing tournament by landing a 232.2-pound behemoth. The Fullerton resident was fishing aboard Aurora Charter's boat, Orion, when she caught the fish.

Aaland's catch also propelled her to the top of the Women's division.

Sarah Castle moved into second in the overall standings with a 225.2-pound halibut earlier in the week. Castle, a resident of St. Paul, Minnesota, was aboard ProFish-n-Sea's boat, OPursuit.

Nygard held the lead for the first two weeks of the month-long tournament. He landed a 176-pounder on the second day of competition.

A third large finish was also pulled from the Resurrection Bay waters last week. Tom Schula, of Littleton, Colorado, moved into fifth overall with a 164.8-pound catch.

Nygard wasn't the only leader to fall by the wayside last week. Hannah Hart took over the top spot in the Youth Division. The Lolo, Montana, resident snagged a catch of 143-pounds and easily overtook previous leader Edward Gregorin. The Anchorage 12-year-old had held the lead for much of the last two weeks with a fish that weighed in at 84.2 pounds.

2017 Seward Halibut

Tournament Leaders

As of June 19, 2017

Overall Leaders

1. Ermagene Aalund, Fullerton, CA 232.2

2. Sarah Castle, St. Paul, MN 225.2

3. Wayne Nygard, Ft. Worth, TX 176.0

4. Barney Wolner, Seward, AK 171.8

5. Tom Schula, Littleton, CO 164.8

6. Seth Price, Anchorage, AK 137.6

7. Scott Prigge, Ely, MN 132.6

8. Kenneth Holmes, Salvise, KY 115.2

Women's Division

1. Ermagene Aalund, Fullerton, CA 232.2

2. Sarah Castle, St. Paul, MN 225.2

3. Jeanette Mayorga, Dallas, TX 92.4

2. Laura White, Wasilla, AK 92.0

Military Division

1. John Austin Gallardo, JBEAR 130.0

Youth Division

1. Hannah Hart, Lolo, MT 143.0

2. Edward Gregorin, Anchorage, AK 84.2


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 02/19/2018 10:17