The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

By Tommy Wells
Seward Phoenix Log 

Nygard holds onto halibut lead


Courtesy photo

Ed McComb of Anchorage shows off the tagged halibut he caught on June 10 while competing in the Seward Halibut Tournament. The fish was worth $250.

Through the first two weeks of the 2017 Seward Halibut Tournament, the biggest winners have come from the Lone Star State.

Texans Wayne Nygard and Jeanette Mayorga hold down the top spot in the overall and women's divisions, respectively.

A native of Fort Worth, Nygard held onto the top spot in the tournament's overall standings through the first 12 days of competition. Fishing aboard the Arctic Cat, he landed the biggest halibut - a 176-pounder - on the second day of the event, which kicked off on June 1.

Seward's Barney Wolner is second in the standings with a fish that weighed in at 171.8 pounds. Anchorage's Seth Price moved into third this weekend when he landed a 137.6-pounder while fishing aboard the Silver Lining.

Scott Prigge, of Ely, Minnesota, moved into fourth on June 11 with a fish that weighed in at 132.6. Prigge was fishing onboard the Sea Quest.

Mayorga took over the top spot in the women's division - barely. While fishing aboard the ProFish, the Dallas, Texas, resident landed a 92.4-pound halibut. Her fish weighed in at exactly a quarter-pound heavier than the one Wasilla's Laura White caught last week..

The leaders in the Military and Youth divisions remained unchanged during the second week of fishing. John Austin Gallardo's 130-pound halibut leads the Military division, while 12-year-old Anchorage angler Edward Gregorin leads the Youth classification with a mark of 84.2.

The 2017 Seward Halibut Tournament is scheduled to run through 11:59 p.m. on June 30.

2017 Seward Halibut

Tournament Leaders

As of June 5, 2017

Overall Leaders

1. Wayne Nygard (Ft. Worth, TX) 176.0

2. Barney Wolner (Seward, AK) 171.8

3. Seth Price (Anchorage, AK) 137.6

Women's Division

1. Jeanette Mayorga (Dallas, TX) 92.4

2. Laura White (Wasilla, AK) 92.0

Military Division

1. John Austin Gallardo (JBEAR) 130.0

Youth Division

1. Edward Gregorin (Anchorage) 84.2


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017