The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

By Tommy Wells
Seward Phoenix LOG 

Freiberg named to all-state squad


November 2, 2017 | View PDF

Seward High School standout Beau Freiberg capped the Seahawks’ football season with a positive note last week by being selected to the Division III all-state football squad. The SHS junior was among more than 30 players from across the state honored by the Alaska Football Coaches Association.

One of the Seahawks’ top two-way players, Freiberg was named to the second-team roster as the deep snapper.

Barrow head coach Chris Battle claimed one of the top awards handed out. The Whalers’ first-year head coach was tabbed the AFCA Division III Coach of the Year after guiding Barrow to its first-ever state football title.

Homer’s Teddy Croft earned the Division III Offensive Player of the Year award, while Houston’s Reed Graham was named the defensive player of the year.

Division III

All-State Football Awards

Offensive Player of the Year — Teddy Croft, Homer.

Defensive Player of the Year — Reed Graham, Houston.

Lineman of the Year — Scott Fry, Eielson.

Coach of the Year — Chris Battle, Barrow.

Assistant Coach of the Year — Don Fry, Eielson.

First-team offense

Quarterback — Teddy Croft, Homer

Running back — Noah Fisk, Homer; Jeramiah Brown, Eielson

Fullback — Ben Heather, Barrow

Wide receiver — Joe Ravin, Homer

Tight end — Sione Tuifua, Barrow

Tackle — Lau Takafua, Barrow; Kevin Baird, Eielson

Guard — Reed Graham, Houston; Ryan Armour, Eielson

Center — Scott Fry, Eielson

Utility — Travis Adams, Barrow

First-team defense

Defensive line — Levi King, Homer; Brian Filipo, Barrow; Sebastian Sias, Barrow; Scott Fry, Eielson

Inside linebacker — Reed Graham, Houston; David Sanarov, Voznesenka

Outside linebacker — Noah Plum, Houston; Sione Tuifua, Barrow

Defensive back — Jeramiah Brown, Eielson; Joe Ravin, Homer; Isaac Minnema, Monroe.

First-team special teams

Kicker — Zach Paul, Eielson

Punter — Kyle Sadergren, Valdez

Return specialist — Isaac Minnema, Monroe

Long snapper — Derek Berg, Valdez

Second-team offense

Quarterback — Trae Puryear, Monroe

Running back — Noah Plumb, Houston; Kyler Rumfelt, Redington

Fullback — Ian Johnson, Nikiski

Wide receiver — Justin Sumption, Homer; Jordan Higbee, Monroe

Tight end — Brian Amirault, Redington

Tackle — Baker Hensley, Nikiski; Finn Heimbold, Homer

Guard — Justin Mullings, Nikiski; Isaac Acheryok, Redington

Center — Levi King, Homer

Utility — Dawson Felde, Homer

Second-team defense

Defensive line — Dylan Jackson, Houston; Baker Hensley, Nikiski; Nikit Anufriev, Voznesenka; Kyle Wells, Homer

Inside linebacker — Josh Grey, Monroe; Ian Johnson, Nikiski

Outside linebacker — Eli Benson, Redington; Noah Fisk, Homer

Defensive back — Christian Bolton, Eielson; Tyler Olsen, Nikiski. Aiden Norris, Redington.

Second-team special teams

Kicker — Michael Mysing, Nikiski

Punter — Kyle Wells, Homer

Return specialist — David Sanarov, Voznesenka

Long snapper — Beau Freiberg, Seward.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017