The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

By Tommy Wells
Seward Phoenix LOG 

It's official: Horn, Towsley claim seats on city council


October 12, 2017 | View PDF

Thanks to near record-setting turnout, the Seward City Council will have a pair of new faces when it reconvenes for its next session.

Following certification of the October 3 results of the municipal election by the Seward Canvass Board last week, and the approval of the council, both Jeremy Horn and Suzanne Towsley, along with incumbent Sue McClure, were officially named winners of the three seats available on the city’s governing board.

Towsley and Horn will replace vice-mayor Marianna Kiel and departing councilwoman Deborah Altermatt. Kiel announced earlier this year that she would not be seeking re-election.

McClure, a former member of the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly, was a runaway winner during the election. She garnered one of the three at-large seats by receiving the highest total of votes of any of the five candidates running. Overall, she earned 352 votes.

Horn and Towsley finished second and third, respectively. Horn received 267 votes, while Towsley garnered 243.

Katie Cornwell and Altermatt finished fourth and fifth, respectively, with 235 and 227 votes. Altermatt had been seeking a second term on the council.

In addition to the council results, city voters also answered two other key questions. First, they filled the role of mayor by electing David Squires.

The former chief of the Seward Fire Department received nearly 82 percent of the votes cast, taking 428 of the 523 ballots. Tim McDonald placed second.

McDonald congratulated the mayor-elect on his victory on Monday.

Additionally, voters narrowly approved amending the city charter to allow for the phasing in of three-year terms for the positions of mayor and city council members. The proposition garnered approval by 51.5 percent of the voters and passed by a slim 270-254 margin.

McClure, Horn, Towsley and Squires will be sworn into office and assume their seats on the council at the October 23 meeting.

Election Results

The City of Seward Canvass Board met on Oct. 5 and certified the final results of the election. They are as follows:

Mayor (one seat)

Dave Squires 428

Tim McDonald 83

Write ins 12


City Council (three seats)

Sue McClure 352

Jeremy Horn 267

Suzanne Towsley 243

Katie Cornwell 235

Deborah Altermatt 227

Write ins 10


Proposition One

(Extending mayor and council terms to three years)

Yes 270

No 254


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017