The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

By Tommy Wells
Seward Phoenix LOG 

'Hawks take 3rd at Frank D Invitational


September 14, 2017 | View PDF

Tommy Wells/Seward Phoenix LOG

The Seward Seahawks placed third in the final standings at the Frank D Invitational on Friday.

Neil Lindquist and Max Pfeiffenberger both turned in impressive outings on Friday and powered the Seward High School Seahawks cross-country team to third at the annual Frank Dieckgraeff Invitational. Both Lindquist and Pfeiffenberger finished in the top 10 in the individual standings.

Lindquist highlighted the Seahawks' outing by completing a trifecta of medaling efforts from his family. Prior to taking to the trail, the Seward freshman watched as his sisters won the varsity and junior varsity girls' titles.

He followed suit by finishing third in the boys' standings with a time of 17 minutes and 52 seconds.

Lindquist's run, combined with a top 10 performance from fellow freshman Pfeiffenberger, helped Seward place third in the team standings. The Seahawks rolled up 53 points in the meet.

Pfeiffenberger finished ninth in the standings with a time of 18:14.

Homer's Jacob Davis won the boys' 5-kilometer race with a time of 17:38. His teammate Luciano Fasulo gave the Mariners a 1-2 sweep by finishing a second off the winning pace at 17:39.

Davis' victory helped Homer finish second to Soldotna in the team standings.

Seward also picked up a solid showing from Zen Petrosius. The SHS senior pushed his way to an 11th-place fimish in the race. He clocked a time of 18:21, just 6 seconds behind Soldotna's Bradley Walters, who rounded out the top 10

Trey Ingalls and Brendan McMurray and Samuel Koster also legged out top 20 marks. Ingalls finished 14th at 19:01, while McMurray checked in at 16th with a time of 19:13. Koster finished 19th at 19:42.

Steven Osborn also completed the race, claiming 21st in the standings with a mark of 21:14.

Frank Dieckgraeff Invitational

Held on Friday, Sept. 8, in Seward


Team scores: 1. Soldotna, 35; 2. Homer, 40; 3. Seward, 53.

Individual five-kilometer results

1. Jacob Davis, Homer, 17:38; 2. Luciano Fasulo, Homer, 17:39; 3. Neil Lindquist, Seward, 17:52; 4 (tie). Sean Verg-in, Soldotna, Jordan Beachy, Homer, 17:57; 6. Koby Vinson, Soldotna, 18:03; 7. Josh Shuler, Soldotna, 18:05; 8. Lance Chilton, Soldotna, 18:11; 9. Max Pfeiffenberger, Seward, 18:14; 10. Bradley Walters, Soldotna, 18:15; 11. Zen Petrosius, Seward, 18:21; 12. Mekbeb Denbrock, Soldotna, 18:25; 13. Bechler Metcalf, Soldotna, 18:56; 14. Trey Ingalls, Seward, 19:01; 15. Denver Waclawski, Homer, 19:11; 16. Brendan McMurray, Seward, 19:13; 17. Clayton Beachy, Homer, 19:26; 18. Mose Hayes, Homer, 19:31; 19. Samuel Koster, Seward, 19:42; 20. Dexter Lowe, Homer, 20:10; 21. Steven Osborn, Seward, 21:14.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 02/20/2018 09:17