By Tommy Wells
Seward Phoenix LOG 

City, borough elections are now set for voters


August 24, 2017 | View PDF

Residents of the Kenai Peninsula Borough will have plenty of choices to make on October 3 when they go to the polls to cast their ballots in the General Election. In all, Seward voters will be helping to decide several key borough seats as well as more than a few seats on their own city council.

According to Kenai Peninsula Borough officials, as many as five seats on the borough assembly will be available, including the role of mayor. Current borough mayor Mike Navarre announced earlier this year he would not be seeking re-election.

As of last Tuesday’s deadline, three candidates had filed the necessary paperwork to run for the borough’s mayoral position, including Sterling’s Charlie Pierce and Soldotna’s Linda Hutchings and Dale Bagley.

Pierce previously served on the borough assembly from 2008-2016. Hutchings currently serves on the state Worker’s Compensation board. Bagley, who served as borough mayor from 1999 to 2005, now represents District 2 on the assembly.

The District 1, District 2 and District 5 seats on the board will also be decided. In District 1, Brent Hibbert, Dan Castimore and Kate Veh have all filed to run. Hibbert has served on the board since January when he stepped in to fill a vacancy.

In District 2, incumbent Jill Schaefer is among three Kenai residents announcing plans to run. Schaefer will be joined on the ballot by Duane Bennock and Hal Smalley.

Leslie Morton and Norm Blakeley are vying for the District 5 seat formerly held by Stan Welles, who resigned on Augut 19 citing medical concerns.

Two areas that voters won’t have to worry about casting ballots for are District 8 (Homer) and District 6 (Seward). Incumbents Kelly Cooper and Kenn Carpenter were the only persons to file for those positions. Carpenter has been Seward’s representative on the borough assembly since January, when he stepped in to fill the role vacated by former assemblywoman Brandi Holmdahl.

In the Seward municipal elections, several seats on the city council are being contested, including the position of mayor. Current mayor Jean Bardarson did not file for re-election.

Seeking re-election to the three at-large seats on the council are incumbents Sue McClure and Deborah Altermatt. Also running are Jeremy Horn, Suzanne Towlsey and Katie Cornwell.

Tim McDonald and current councilman David Squires have filed to run for mayor.

Seward voters will also be deciding whether to alter the city charter to allow individuals elected to the city council to serve 3-year terms instead of two. The city council placed the measure on the ballot to allow residents to decide whether the changes would enable the city to avoid dramatic turnover on the council every two years.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 01/12/2018 06:11