The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

By Tommy Wells
Seward Phoenix LOG 

Winners in 2017 Mini Mount Marathon Race are announced


Tommy Wells

A young girl sprints down Fourth Avenue with her cape soaring while competing in the 2017 Mini Mount Marathon Race. The race was held on July 4.

Carter Ivy and Arielle Fleming managed to bring home Mount Marathon titles on July 4. Mini Mount Marathon, that is.

Ivy and Fleming highlighted a large group of youth from across the globe to participate in the 2017 Mini Mount Marathon Race. The race, which was held during the annual MMR race, was open to children ranging in age from 2-6.

According to the Seward Chamber of Commerce, Ivy won the boys' 6-year-old division. He outraced Homer's Preston Szymoniak for the top spot.

Fleming captured the girls' 3-year-old title. She highlighted a 1-2-3 finish by Seward runners by edging out Lily Schablein and Mckinley Klein.

Alli Phillips and Oliver Banse narrowly missed wins. Phillips was second to in the girls' 4-year-old race. Banse was second in the 4-year-old boys' race.

Ryah Thrall was third in the girls' 6-year-old division, while Mason Jordan was third in the boys' 5-year-old race. Liam Bryan was third in the boys' 3-year-old race.

2017 Mini Mount Marathon Race Results

6-Year-old Division


1. Chloe Fletcher Wasilla, AK

2. Lila Petitt Palmer, AK

3. Ryah Thrall Seward, AK


1. Carter Ivy Seward, AK

2. Preston Szymoniak Homer, AK

3. Kip Hudson Anchorage, AK

5-Year-Old Division


1. Kathryn Owens Anchorage, AK

2. Kelyse Bilesfuse Shorewood, WI

3. Isla Paterniti Anchorage, AK


1. Jude Gibson Anchorage, AK

2. Charlie Daugherty Eagle River, AK

3. Mason Jordan Seward, AK

4-Year-Old Division


1. Harper Harris Anchorage, AK

2. Alli Phillips Seward, AK

3. Maevry Deocampo Anchorage, AK


1. Ckristoft Balato Hungary

2. Oliver Banse Seward, AK

3. Sawyer Waite Eagle River, AK

3-Year-Old Division


1. Arielle Fleming Seward, AK

2. Lily Schablein Seward, AK

3. Mckinley Klein Seward, AK


1. Grayson Vignolo Bakersfield, CA

2. Hudson Quimby Eagle River, AK

3. Liam Bryan Seward, AK

2-Year-Old Division


1. Isla McIntyre Milwaukee, WI

2. Kirra Ferrin Anchorage, AK

3. Myla Lau Germany


1. Hoyt Harris Anchorage, AK

2. Hayes Harris Anchorage, AK

3. Titus Sullivan Cooper Landing, AK


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017