The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

'Lactic Alaskan Trip' clains win in inaugural Alaska Relay


Kristina Storlie, David Berg, Leah Zumwalt, Sean Zumwalt, Corbyn Zahn, Benn Schlapia, Marliese von Huene, Christi Meyn, Thomas Nenahlo, Katherine Sind, Ross Ring-Jarvi and Jennifer Baker, running as a team called “Lactic Alaskan Trip,” wrote themselves into the Alaskan history books on Saturday. Actually, they raced their way into the history books.

The 12 athletes teamed to win the inaugural Alaska Relay event by completing a grueling 175-mile relay in the fastest time. The squad made the journey from Mirror Lake Park in Chugiak to Seward High School in a time of 23 hours, 47 minutes. Their overall time was more than an hour faster than the second-place squad.

As part of the race, each member of the team ran three stages of the course. Each stage was made up of segments ranging from 3 to 10 miles. As a team, Lactic Alaskan Trip averaged 8 minutes and 10 seconds per mile.

Overall, 16 teams competed in the race. Race officials said all 16 teams, comprising more than 190 runners, completed the course on Saturday.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017