The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

By Wolfgang Kurtz
LOG Editor 

Marriage proposal sets off Lost Lake Run


Wolfgang Kurtz | The Seward Phoenix LOG

The 2013 Lost Lake Run began at the Primrose Campground on Kenai Lake almost 16 miles away from the finish, as several waves of runners took off from the starting line.

Hundreds of mountain trail racers queued up for a Saturday morning bus ride from the Bear Creek Volunteer Fire Department to the starting line for the 2013 Lost Lake Run. The annual race benefits those with Cystic Fibrosis and the Lost Lake Breath of Life Run was first organized by Marsha Vincent in 1992 to raise awareness and funds to fight the genetically transmitted disease. According to a proclamation at the City of Seward’s Aug. 12 council meeting, approximately 30,000 children and adults have cystic fibrosis and an additional ten million more carry the defective gene.

The runners and walkers began the largely mountainous trail at the Primrose Campground on Kenai Lake and finished back at the BCVFD. The start for the runners was broken up into waves depending on what the runners thought their finish time would be. The first wave was for those who expected to finish the race in less than two hours. In the end, 17 men and two women finished this year’s run under that mark. Last year one woman and 22 men finished the race with times under two hours included 2012’s pace-setter, Eric Strabel, with a time of 1:38:33.

Eric Strabel ran the race this year, but with a twist. Minutes before the start, he proposed to Denali Foldager, and they ran the race together. The two marathoners are a fixture at the annual Mount Marathon Race with Strabel breaking the all-time record this year. Denali is one of Seward’s Foldager clan, the tongue-in-cheek “mountain royalty,” who helped establish the modern MMR as one of the athletic world’s legendary events. Along with her parents, Flip and Patti, she always places near the top of the rankings for the grueling event.

This year Sam Tilly and Sewardite Erik Johnson took advantage of Strabel’s preoccupation to place first and second with times of 1:43:24 and 1:44:51. Kelsey Martin and Brianna Sullivan placed at the top of the women’s rankings with times of 1:56:48 and 1:59:42.

Next year’s race will be held Aug. 23 and registration begins at 6 a.m., Alaska Standard Time, April 1. This year all slots for the race were filled within hours. Complete times and more information is available at


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 03/16/2018 10:36