The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

By LOG Staff 

Election 2012: Primary Results


With 98 percent of Alaska’s precincts counted in Tuesday’s primary election, one ballot measure is too close to call and the other went down in defeat, and party candidates are selected for November’s general election. Only about 10 percent of eligible voters cast ballots.

Ballot Measure 1, to increase the maximum residential tax exemption, will be decided once all the votes are counted. At press time 49.45 percent had voted yes and 50.55 voted no.

The high-profile Ballot Measure 2 to reestablish a coastal zone management program in Alaska went down with 61.84 percent voting no and 38.16 voting yes.

In the U.S. Representative race, Sharon Cissna won the Democratic candidacy, with 42.92 percent of the votes. Matt Moore had 19.42 percent, Debra Chesnut 14.72 percent, Frank Vondersaar 4.58 percent, and Doug Urquidi 2.67 percent. For the Republicans, 40-year incumbent Don Young took 78.82 percent of the votes. Rivals John Cox got 14.67 percent and Terre Gales 6.52 percent. In the Nov. 6 general election Cissna and Young will run against Libertarian Jim McDermott and nonaffiliated candidates as write ins Clinton Desjarlais, Fletcher Fuller Jr., Ted Gianoutsos and Sidney Hill.

Republican primary voters in state Senate District N elected Cathy Giessel with 66.96 percent of the votes, to Jim Arness’ 33.04 percent, to run again nonaffiliated Ron Devon in the general.

For state representative in District 28 only Republican Mike Chenalt filed to run for the upcoming term.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 03/12/2018 22:48