The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

By Annette Shacklett

Live Blog: Mount Marathon Race & Independence Day


Annette Shacklett | The Seward Phoenix LOG

Start of Mens' Race

Click for Men's Race Results

Click for Women's Race Results

Click for Junior Race Results


More photos in the photos section. (Click the "photos" link above, then select "July 4, 2012.")

Live Blog

Mount Marathon Race and Independence Day as it happens, or as close to it as we can muster.

6:36 p.m.

All times are unofficial.

Men's winner:

Matthew Novakovich of Anchorage. 44:07.

Second: Trond Flagstad of Anchorage. 44:26.

Third: Matias Saari of Anchorage. 45:13.

Women's winner:

Women's Winner: Holly Brocks of Anchorage. 51:53.

Second: Lauren Fritz of Chugiak. 54:47.

Third: Laura Brosius of Fairbanks. 55:04.

Junior Boys':

First: Miles Knotek of Moose Pass. 27:18.

Second: Lyon Kopsak of Palmer. 28:02.

Third: Michael Marshall of Seward. 28:48.

Junior Girls':

First: Alison Ostrander of Soldotna. 32:50.

Second: Ann Spencer of Anchorage. 36:00.

Third: Alyson Kopsack of Palmer. 38:09.

More stories and photos to come...

4:36 p.m.

Men's winner: Matthew Novakovich

3:22 p.m.

Matthew Novakovich leads going up the mountain.

3:10 p.m.

The men are on the mountain.

The weather hovers between heavy mist and rain.

Conditions are the trail are SLICK!

2:01 p.m.

Next up: Men's Race starts at 3 p.m.

The clouds have lifted and we can now see the top of Mount Marathon from town. Drizzling a bit.

The parade has passed.

1 p.m.

Women's Winner: Holly Brocks of Anchorage. 51:53 (unofficial time)

Second: Lauren Fritz of Chugiak. 54:47.

Next up: Parade at 1:30

11:18 a.m.

The women are on the mountain.

Last year's winner, Kikkan Randall is sitting out the race to train for the Winter Olympics.

11:02 a.m.

The women's race starts in15 minutes.

Clouds envelop the mountain. Officials have announced that no water for the runners was delivered to to top due to the clouds.

10:58 a.m.

Junior Boys':

Miles Knotek of Moose Pass - 27:18 (unofficial times)

Lyon Kopsak of Palmer - 28:08

Michael Marshall of Seward - 28:48

Junior Girls':

Alison Ostrander of Soldotna - 32:51 (unofficial times)

10:31 a.m.

Junior Boys' Winner: Mile Knotek

Junior Girl's Winner: Alison Ostrander

Photos up shortly

9:33 a.m.

The Juniors are on the mountain.

Race organizers have announced that the mountain is very slick from the rain, and they ask that spectators do not climb up the mountain today.

Classic rock-n-roll fills the air.

9 a.m.

Opening Ceremony in 15 minutes. The grandstand is directly in front of the LOG office!

Junior Mount Marathon Race starts in a half hour.

Still rather quiet downtown. People are headed in, though.

With all the rain last night and this morning it'll be a muddy race.

Weather: It's not raining at the moment. The middle third of the mountain is shrouded in clouds.

7:30 a.m.

The Anchorage Daily News has a nice graphic of the mountain and this year's contenders.

Schedule of Events

6:30 a.m.

Independence Day dawned with rain and the mountain patiently waits for today's runners.

Next up: Booths in downtown open at 9 a.m.

Opening Ceremony at 9:15, downtown

Junior Race begins 9:30, downtown

Current conditions: Rain. 44 degrees. No wind.

Weather prediction: Rain. National Weather Service predicts 90 percent chance of rain with highs in the lower to mid 50s. South to east wind 5 to 20 mph


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 12/08/2017 13:31