The Seward Phoenix Log - News of the Eastern Kenai Peninsula since 1966

Alaska Ocean Leadership Award nominations open


Nominations for several awards will be accepted by the Alaska Ocean Leadership Awards Committee through Jan. 13. The awards will be presented at the Alaska Marine Gala, Feb. 18. The five different awards celebrate organizations and individuals who have made significant contributions to awareness and sustainability of the state’s marine resources.

• The Walter J. and Ermalee Hickel Lifetime Achievement Award will be awarded to an individual or institution that has made an exceptional contribution to management of Alaska’s coastal and ocean resources over a period of 25 years or more.

• The Ocean Literacy Award will be awarded to an individual, team or institution that has made a breakthrough in promoting ocean literacy in Alaska among a segment of the general population via formal or informal education, outreach, or other communications. This award is sponsored by the Alaska Center for Ocean Sciences Education Excellence (COSEE) and the Alaska Ocean Observing System (AOOS).

• The Ocean Media Award will be awarded to a journalist, writer, film maker or organization that has produced an outstanding film, book, article, radio, or television report that was shared with the public and which made an outstanding contribution to raising awareness of Alaska’s oceans. This award is sponsored by the University of Alaska Fairbanks School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences.

• The Marine Research Award will be awarded to a scientist, team of scientists, or institution that is acknowledged by peers to have made an original, breakthrough contribution to any field of scientific knowledge about Alaska’s oceans. This award is sponsored by Dr. Clarence Pautzke and Dr. Maureen McCrae.

• The Ocean Stewardship and Sustainability Award will be awarded to an industry initiative that demonstrates the highest commitment to sustainability to Alaska’s ocean resources. This award is sponsored by Jason Brune.

The Awards Committee, chaired by former ASLC President and CEO, Dr. Ian Dutton, will present the awards at the Alaska Marine Gala, Feb. 18, at the Dena’ina Center in Anchorage. The gala benefits the Alaska SeaLife Center, and this year will highlight the Center’s distance education, wildlife stranding and internship programs.

“These awards are an integral part of the Alaska Marine Gala, celebrating those individuals and organizations that have excelled at understanding, sustaining, and communicating about Alaska’s oceans,” said Dr. Tara Riemer Jones, the Center’s President and CEO.

Nominations can be made online through Jan. 13

The Alaska SeaLife Center is a private non-profit research institution and visitor attraction which generates and shares scientific knowledge to promote understanding and stewardship of Alaska’s marine ecosystems. For more information regarding the Alaska Ocean Leadership Awards, the Alaska Marine Gala, or the Alaska SeaLife Center please reference the Alaska SeaLife Center Website at


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2016

Rendered 12/11/2016 20:13